I will make a boat in my garage, anyone tried?

Discussion in 'Software' started by Pinion, Apr 28, 2006.

1. Pinion

Pinion New Member

hi, I am a newbie here, I always like boats and am thinking to make one in my parent's empty garage (like many make kit cars in their garage), my boat will be a nice little frp single haul body walk around with cabin and top deck, comfortable accomodate 2-3 peoples overnight, easy access for dive and fishing activities etc.... I am looking for a software to put my dream boat in CAD drawing... I found a lot of compliment in this forum on Solidworks software...and I think it might be the best to get one now instead spend more time looking around, just wondering where you guys purchase this powerful Cad/rendening software in Australia? Or it's easier to buy from US as I assume it's US based software company .... I learnt CAD in college...if I can afford I want to get software that offers frequent updates then I can always have new functions to play with... and train myself .... anyhoo... I plan to have the boat finish in 2008... so if I get the software now I will be able to work on my drawing ASAP... and if I can I might post it here latter the year to get some oppinion and criticism... it will be fun... hope to see any reply here, thanks!

2. antonfourie

antonfourie Senior Member

One thing to be aware of, if you are using any resin systems, they are clamping down on the use of it in residential areas in Oz so check that your neighbours are not going to report you if they smell it.

3. Pinion

Pinion New Member

yeh, propably, luckily I know a pal made car frp panels in his own place, and that wasn't too bad... if I walk pass his front door, cannot really smell what he is making in his house... another plus is my parent's place isn't in a crowd neighbourhood... so I guess nothing really can stop me ...

4. antonfourie

antonfourie Senior Member