I used the wrong filler in cracks on my canoe...

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by mattmartin4, Dec 30, 2010.

1. mattmartin4

mattmartin4 Junior Member

I am a complete noob when it comes to canoes/boats so I am hoping someone will help me here!

I've just picked up a 2nd hand 15.5ft canoe which is only going to be used in lakes for fishing.

I'm probably going to be ripped for this but anyways here goes...

I have a couple of small chips about 1 - 1.5 cm wide which I have filled with pollyfiler. Which I now realize is stupid because its porous!

Does anybody have a suggestion on how to correct this? Sand it out? Then put a fiber glass filler over the top? Then sand down?

Appreciate any suggestions that you have.

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Dig it out and repair it with gelcoat. I assume you are talking of a fiberglass canoe.

3. mattmartin4

Hi gonzo,

Yes it is a fiberglass canoe. Do you have any suggestions as to what I should use to digg it out? I'm thinking I've got to be pretty careful with it...

Where can I get gel coat from? I'm in Canada, used to live in the UK though!

4. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Anything sharp: chisel, knife, etc. Sand as much of the leftover as you can. Any marine store will sell it. Hardware stores and paint stores too. Try Canadian Tire. I lived in Canada for a few years.

5. mattmartin4

Of course... Canadian Tire will have it!

Thanks - I must remember to research these things before jumping straight in!

6. mattmartin4

7. mattmartin4

I was worrying about nothing filler came out no problems!

Can someone give me some advice on finishing the canoe.

I am planning to fill the chips, sand the whole canoe down and then paint.