Stiffener calculation based on ISO 12215

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Ardi, Sep 7, 2021.

Tags:
  1. Ardi

Ardi Junior Member

Hi everyone, :)

I'm a new member in this group. Now I'm trying to design a small aluminum boat using the ISO 12215 standard and I'm studying this ISO self-taught. By the way, I have calculated for the minimum modulus section area of the bottom stiffener. And I found a value of 8.6 cm2 attached to 6mm bottom plate. After I looked into Annex G, I found a table like the one attached. My question are :
    1. How do I read the table and which size of stiffener do I use? Because the value of 8.6 is between 7.7 and 11.7
    2. Is there a manual way to calculate the stiffener size?

Thanks for the answer, and maybe in the future I'll ask more questions considering I'm a self-taught. I think this group is a very good start for everyone who wants to study about boat.

Regards,
    Ardi

Attached Files:

2. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Hi Ardi,
    Welcome to the forum.

The selection of stiffener depends upon what type you wish to use. If your calculation says you need 8.6cm3, then that is the minimum value.
    So looking at the table, if you wanted to use an angle bar or Tee bar, then your choice would start with:
    upload_2021-9-8_14-9-22.png

A 40x40x5 angle bar. This is the minimum. Its modulus on 6mm plate is 9.6cm3...so that value is greater than 8.6cm3...so it is acceptable.
    If you can't get angle bar, or don't wish to use it, then say a flat bar:
    upload_2021-9-8_14-10-45.png

You can select a 70x7mm flat bar; its modulus is 11.7cm3 on 6mm plate. You cannot select the 60x6, as that is 7.7 and below 8.6cm3.

Yes, but is is probably beyond your ability.
    You can find online calculators such as here, but for attached plate you need an unequal angle, since the lower flange is your 6mm plate (more breadth) and is different from the flange of an angle bar (different thickness and breadth).