Modify Sailboat to Semi planing

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Doug Meyer, Jun 14, 2013.

1. Doug Meyer

Doug Meyer Amateur Boat Designer

Hi All,

This is my first time on a forum so bare with me.I have modified two trailer sailors, one to a power launch using a Frank Pelin 17 ft hull and the second a 16 ft Hartley GTS (Hartley 16 fibre glass version) which I raised the cabin roof and converted to a motorsailor. Both boats I kept the swing keels but both boats only reached hullspeed which at 5 to 6 knots is painfully slow.

I have purchased another 16ft Quicksilver same as the Hartley 16 fibreglass version.I intend to modify and extend the hull this time. Remove the keel and try and get the hull lines as close as i can to John Atkins Ninigret. Hopefully try and double the hull speed to 12knotswith a 25 hp outoard.

This will be a lot of work cutting the hull on the keel and chines and modifying the whole aft section.I believe this is the best option and I have the whole of winter to do it.I want a low speed in expensive semi planing 10 to 12knot launch running with small Hp.

Any suggestions or advice would be welcomed.

I have seen some boats with a wedge aft to change the buttock angle.I have seen this done but don't know how efficient it is.

2. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member

ok simple question first !! where in nz are you ??close to Auckland ??

3. Doug Meyer

Mairangi bay.

4. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

A quick perusal of the Ninigret lines shows a hollow waterline forward, which you won't find on that Hartley 16 imo. It is just going to squat like a planing hull on the "hump" even if you "fill in" the lines aft. That would be accentuated running with the chop.

5. Doug Meyer