I need help in finding a day sail design to build?

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by inubus, May 15, 2009.

1. inubus

inubus Junior Member

I live real close to a local lake that is good for sailing and have a fascination for cats and projects I can do myself. I am new to sailing though I have heard of wharram plans but was wondering if there were other options for a trailable beachcat or day sailer with little accomadations. any help or ideas would be appreciated. thanks

2. peterAustralia

peterAustralia Senior Member

hi

Small mulithull with accommodation is difficult

At one end you have trimaran designs at 18ft and from 350kg and upwards. But that may be too large and too pricey for you

Another option may be a Jarcat, J5. With the economy the way things are now, you may be able to buy something cheap (second hand).

Going cheaper still, you can build something like my boat, an outrigger sialing canoe. I have an 18ft x 4ft dory, and a 14ft outrigger. The concept has a lot of potential. I have slept in mine, and in calm conditions it worked well. In very heavy steep oncoming waves it pounded badly, but that was me trying to get home when I should not have done, and having a flat bottom, whereas a V bottom would have been superior.

It all depends, how much accommodation do you want.
    What weight are you prepared to accept,
    what is your budget.
    how much time are you prepared to spend at assembly
    Where do you wish to sail
    Do you wish to sail fast or is modest speed OK
    How many people does it need to carry? 1,2,3 or more
    Do you need a fixed roof or would a pop-top or canvas top be appropriate
    What is your building skill. can you work off a quick sketch, or do you need detailed plans

some other boats that may suit
    there is an 18ft cat called Slider that has some accommodation, not sure if you can sleep in it, you could do
    Chris Ostlind has his A18T, in all probability he will read this soon and put in his 2 cents worth