plastic staples

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by chandler, Jul 8, 2006.

1. chandler

chandler Senior Member

Has anyone here ever tried plastic staples to align and hold strip planking? And if so ; what were the results and the manufacturer?

2. DGreenwood

DGreenwood Senior Member

3. woodworkingman

woodworkingman Junior Member

4. Marmoset

Marmoset Senior Member

Tad off topic but I noticed the "where do I find bronze" question comes up a lot.Spotnail nail has a bronze 3/16 staple for Pneumatic. I'm a hard wood guy and mostly use 1/4 crown for small stuff but in basements and baths and such(wet areas and high moisture) I use the 3/16 bronze staples. Basically acts same as the 18 gauge 1/4 crown. Since I basically strip plank for a living! I know they work well. I have a specific gun that shoots them just into the side of the planks at a 25 degree angle so they can be seen when next board butts into it.

Anyway just sharing

Barry

5. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

I use monel staple in these locations. They're harder and shoot into denser materials easier.

6. Marmoset

Marmoset Senior Member

Do they have any Monel staples in thicker than t50 type formats? Love to find them if they did! Some days I'm sweating bullets shooting through something like a 7/8 mahogany or walnut! I do use Arrow monel 9/16 to 1/2 crown for tacking tar paper on an old hemlock sub floor for example, but that's only at 1/2" length. I need a Monel in beefy 2 inch long format, there's always cleats but nothing beats the grab of a staple.

Barry

7. PAR

They're not as easy to find as stainless, but If seen them for 18A and 25A, as well as the much more common T-50. You're better off with a specialty supplier, like NailGunDepot or similar.

8. Marmoset

Marmoset Senior Member