The New Guy

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by C-mack, Jan 17, 2010.

1. C-mack

C-mack Boat Dreamer

Just wanted to say Hi!
    I have been enjoying your site from the sidelines for a few months. I have a few projects I want to start when the weather gets warm here in North East Pa.

First project is to increase the lenght of a 14' Mfg hull to 18' for a slow cruising overnighter. I'm a dreamer of completing the Great Loop trip some day and this is how I plan to start.:idea:

Next is to cut down a 17' fiberglass canoe 2' and make a square stern on her. Maybe add a sail kit and 2 side hull pontoons

The third is to build a plywood kayak for a friend by September for his retirment

2. hoytedow

hoytedow Carbon Based Life Form

Welcome. 3 potentially good or bad projects, depending on starting points and strategies.

Last edited: Jan 21, 2010
  3. souljour2000

souljour2000 Senior Member

Interesting projects all...keep us posted...pics and plans and drawings,sketches etc. are all great eye candy for many of us here...I actually like drawings and photos more than alot of the cadware stuff...thats just me.

4. C-mack

C-mack Boat Dreamer

Drawings?? they are all in my head....I'll show you the picture when they are done.
    The 14' footer is and old 1969 Mfg runabout. 6 foot or so beam nearly flat at the stern. I'm rethinking the lenght to 17'. I like boat ratios of 3to1 (Length to beam) . I have seen cabin design like a AF4 or the bird water from Bolger?? Just need a place to sleep ( raised platform off cabin sole). a space behind bunk area to house camping stove. opposite that a seat to get in out of rain. Being a Big guy I like to have the cabin overhead open the lenght of the cabin up to a bow cleat to anchor up. there is no walking around the cabin to get to the bow. A ten horse on the back to push it all along.