I am making a dinghy and need some professional guidance.

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by Riptide, Jun 14, 2010.

1. Riptide

Riptide Junior Member

I've found a mold for a 10ft dinghy and I'd like to try my hand at producing (rather than buying) a car-top boat. I plan on using this mainly as a little fishing boat for my girlfriend and I using an electric or small gas outboard motor for propulsion. I will be beaching it on sandy and perhaps stony shores.

I have no experience in the lay up of anything other than open mold and light RTM tooling (it's part of my job).

The 2 things I do know are: I will not be using epoxy, and I would prefer not to chop the hull.

So that said, how should I go about the hull lay up? How many layers of what type of cloth? How about coring? - I plan on mounting a small outboard or electric motor to the transom. I'm assuming plywood would be good here.

Should I skin it with veil and VE resin and do x amount of layers with 1.5oz CSM? Or would it be best to skin with 1.5oz CSM and use some heavier cloth?

Also - What's the best method of putting seats in?

I'm so glad I found this community. I've spent the better part of my evening reading and learning. I'm not a seafaring guy, but I've always loved boats and the prospect of building one has me pretty excited.

2. Landlubber

Landlubber Senior Member

"skin it with veil and VE resin and do x amount of layers with 1.5oz" CSM....
    ......nothing wrong with that, and you could simply add a layer of core mat then skin it again and it wil last for many years just like that. The core mat will not add all that much weight but will create the thickness for the glass to work as a beam structure (distance)......try 45 biax instead of the 1.5 if you really want to beef her up.....and have fun.

3. tinhorn

tinhorn Senior Member