not sure if this has been done before..

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by GungHo89, Sep 20, 2005.

1. GungHo89

GungHo89 Junior Member

first i would like to say i am a beginner at boat building and boat designing. i dont have much experience in either but have some ideas i would like to try out on a boat.

Im a teenager and have had the urge to build a small powerboat (11-14ft) lately, because i LOVE boating so much:). i know all of the dangers and the time to be consumed in a project like this so i dont feel like getting a speech about that.. i understand fully what im getting myself into.

if you know anything about skis or wakeboards you know they use concave boards rather than flat boards now, giving skiers faster take off, less water resistance getting faster speeds etc... my question is has a boat ever been made with a concave like hull? i know there are tri-hull types and alot of other boats that have a concave like shape going on near the bow. but what about near the rear where the hull may be a little more flat(usually where most of the water resistance is at when on a plane)? i kno some jet skis have characteristics such as this, and was wondering if it has been done on a boat before? if it hasnt been done before how do you think it would ride and if it would be a good idea? any ideas or comments?

i have a jet ski that has some concave curves, giving me the ability to turn on a dime at full speed(50mph)!!! it would be sweet to have a boat that could do the same thing.

sorry im not the best when it comes to the terminology of some things that deal with boats.

2. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

Concave hulls can and have been done. But a boat with a waterski's cross-section will pound like crazy in any kind of waves. Much more practical is a standard V-hull with slight concavity between keel and chine. The Yamaha and SeaDoo jetboats have some of this.