hydroplane design additions

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by afrhydro, Jul 16, 2010.

1. afrhydro

afrhydro Senior Member

this has shown to be a move in the right direction
    this boat design sure has come a long way from the first water test back in 06
    i have had one test with the new reverse airtraps / afterplane pads
    4500 ish is 75 mph
    the boat felt like it was flying peficly the angle of attack was good
    im 100 % sure this boat will have a new personal top speed record next time out

Attached Files:

1 person likes this.
  2. vaio

vaio New Member

afrhydro, i can only say WOW!!!

looks really great and what a performance!
    I'm a student of entrepreneurship but very interested in having/making a hydroplane.
    Can you give me some advice how and where did you start? Maybe what should i be aware of etc. In which program did you do designing?

Thank you and i will follow your work!
    V.

3. afrhydro

afrhydro Senior Member

well first off let me answer your second question first as to what you should be aware of / its dangerous as hell to do it the way i did it and i don't recommend it to be done the way i did it the only reason i have been as successful as i have is the 25 + plus years i have from my upbringing and background with hands on training in the field of repairs and re designs and people i sought advice from

now the first question
    it all started with a dream a pile of wood and a pencil

third question no i didn't use a computer just a tape measure and pictures from other boats and plans i found off the internet then i tracked down and made contacts with the professionals racers who offered advice along the way
    in the end i still did it my way with influence from the professionals which resulted it what i have today

i actually built two of these boats the second boat only had one design change done to it and is currently drag racing with speeds of 80 + mph in the 1/4