hydrolysis destruction

Discussion in 'Materials' started by urisvan, Jan 19, 2009.

1. urisvan

urisvan Senior Member

hi
    there are two opinions for the same subject:
    one says that hydrolysis destruction in fiberglass laminates is worse if the laminate has jelcoat on its back too. because the byproducts of hydrolysis can not leave the lamninate easily so the internal pressure rises more and this cause structural damage.
    one says the opposite; the laminate that is sealed by covering gelcoat or barrier on both surfaces is more durable to hydrolysis because less water molecules penetrates into the laminate
    which one is right?
    cheers

2. mark775

mark775 Guest

My experience with like boats - one gel-coated inside and out and one not, is that the gel-coated one will be several percent lighter decades hence. I do not own a moisture meter.

3. alex folen

alex folen Flynpig

I’ll have to give it a shot for what it’s worth. I’m not a boat expert but from what I’ve seen here would love to be only a fraction of one! Polymer degeneration change properties, tensile, color, shape, ect., of a polymer under the influence of environmental factors such as heat, light, water/saltwater. It is often due to the hydrolysis of the bonds connecting the polymer chain, which in turn leads to a decrease in the molecular mass of the polymer. The degradation of polymers to form smaller molecules may proceed specifically, or in random. Other polymers undergo specific chain breakage at the ends. They also depolymerize to become monomers.….all the byproducts of hydrolysis, as you mentioned. With this I would think the less amount of water to cause the hydrolysis degradation would be optimum. A sealed compartment. In your question I would think the latter.

4. bruceb

bruceb Senior Member

Keep it dry