Oil Tanker Design - Problems with the hull

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Bruno.bdan, Oct 22, 2015.

1. Bruno.bdan

Bruno.bdan New Member

Hello everyone!! My name is Bruno and I'm a shipbuilding student.

For my course's final work, I need to design a Oil tanker. Everything until now is flowing very well, but at this point I'm having some problems with the hull.

I know there is 2 very good ways to predict a tanker resistence: The formdata and the Kiyoshi Tsuchida Methods. Both "versions" of the hull must be on the final version of my work.

The fact is that I have pretty much information about Formdata, but I don't know so much about Tsuchida.

Can some one tell me a little about it, or, where can I find some informations?

Thank you very much,
    Bruno de Assis

2. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

The term "tanker resistance" is a bit vague, imo, should clarify a bit more but presumably you're talking about the longitudinal strength ???
    In any case, the boat shall comply with the regulations of any Classification Society. It would therefore be desirable to see what that CS's Regulations say about.

3. Bruno.bdan

Bruno.bdan New Member

Hello, TANSL.

When I said resistence, I was talking about the hydrodinamic, Lines plan, and not the Strengh.

4. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

Forgive the misunderstanding. What do you need, the frictional resistance, wave making resistance ...?
    For such ships the Holtrop-Mennen method works great.
    About FormData or Tsuchida, sorry, I have no information. So please excuse me if I have wasted your time.

5. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Hi Bruno

Tough task you have!! But well done for trying. I don't design such large vessels, however attached are pages from the excellent paper "Some Ship Design Methods", by Watson & Gilfilian on their estimates for powering, if this helps?