newbie here would like to build a 15 ft open boat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by bumblebeehead, Oct 17, 2010.

1. bumblebeehead

bumblebeehead Junior Member

i'm looking for advice on building a wood utility boat. i would like to build a 15 ft open boat . by open i mean a boat like a 15 ft aluminum rowboat with pointed nose and outboard motor transom capable of holding a mercury inline six vintage outboard.oars included.i will have a tiller on the big ole merc and look forward to the arm cramps.i would like the boat to be wide and stable at rest, and tall and dry at speed riding on a pad. im not going to have any hardware other than the clamp-on power and fuel tank. i don't really want any upholstery either. just pure wood seats and a wood slat floor with spaces between to allow full visual access to the wood frame.i would also like to just use wood. no fiberglass cloth or whatever.

sounds crazy but after 45 years of constant boating this is the kind of boat that would make me happy. it would be a combination of all the boats ive had and be the one i never had. having a 8 ft hydro as a kid and dads boat was a wood 21 carver with a 100 merc i had a woody start. the "little boat" that all the kids ran and also did a lot of fish duty was a wood clyde and there also was a flat bottom row boat, ive had many boats as an adult in the 13-26 range including a 255 formula a 210 scorpion and several smaller cats and i really think my wood dream has to be next.

16 ft max

i would like to go lapstrake like the old carver was. i figure plenty of bracing can be made of the seats

do plans like this exist? i am not afraid to shoot from the hip and build. have a full compliment of carpentry tools that i've been making money with for years and in ready for my little project.

2. bumblebeehead

napkin sketch

something like this

Attached Files:

3. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member