RC Sailboat genoa

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by eschwarm, Jul 1, 2007.

1. eschwarm

eschwarm New Member

I'm researching rc sailboats and planning on building a 1/20th scale IACC boat. I have the design of the hull all set thanks to a post by DaveB containing an autocad model. I have photos to make a scale versions of the rigs(yes i understand it has to be less than 1/20th scale). My question for everyone is, how are genoas(non autotacking jibs) set up. is there a mechanism to switch sheets of is it just a servo. I'm new to this and have never built a model rc sailboat, but i have been sailing all my life and researching how to build rc sailboats for a while. yes, i'm sure this is where i would like to start. So, how are those genoa's set up?

2. Doug Lord

Doug Lord Guest

genoa

You might take a look at "innovations" on www.microsail.com for the illustration of an asy spin set up. A geny doesn't have to be as complex but you do have to devise a way of inducing slack in the soon to be windward sheet as you tack.
    It may be worth it for scale upwind but it is probably too complicated and heavy to justify its use particularly since it doesn't work too well downwind. When you learn more about rc sailing you might want to consider an asy or symetrical spin but that is far too complex for a novice in radio control-and the boat has to be designed FROM SCRATCH for the spin or it won't work well. Also check the Windpower and rcsailing.net discusson forums. And www.modelyacht.org
    Good luck!
    ==========
    Direct link to the asy spin page:
    Address:http://www.microsail.com/spina.html

3. eschwarm

eschwarm New Member