Hull Water Loads

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Karsten, Jun 25, 2004.

1. Karsten

Karsten Senior Member

Is there any rule of thumb for the water loads on the hull of a sailing yacht? The ce regulations say that an ocean going yacht has to cope with 4m waves and 8bft. What do 4m waves do to a hull?

Some portlights have to be tested to 5psi but that seams a bit on the low end of the scale for a hull.

Basically I want to work out the required strength of the hull structure. I'm an Aeronautical Engineer and have access to all the toys (CAD + FEM). But what loads do you apply?

Thanks,
    Karsten

2. SeaDrive

SeaDrive Senior Member

Traditional methods of design relate the hull structure to the displacement and service speed, not the conditions. The 'scantlings coeffecient' used by Gerr in "Elements of Boat Strength" is based on the volume of the hull, more or less.

3. Zed

Zed Guest

Loads

Karsten,

interesting to see that CE regulations are recognised in OZ ;-P.

There are different approaches to the structural layout of boats. First of all there is the classification / CE norm approach. Basically, this means that you employ a cookbook approach. Hence, you open the classification society's rule book, dimension your structures accordingly and that's it.

This will be getting difficult in places where there are no guidelines given (for example the ABS Rules for Offshore Sailing Yachts state that the hull / keel joint must be designed in a way that it won't fall apart).

If you simply want to design a boat four your own convenience I don't see any reason for using the CE norm. In some places it seems too far away from the actual pysics.