Hull Design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Samdaman, Dec 26, 2015.

1. Samdaman

Samdaman Junior Member

Hello!

I'm new here on this forum and to the idea of boat building so please go steady on a first timer :). My fascination for boat building piqued two years ago when I was an undergraduate in university. I've recently graduated in Civil and structural engineering and the fluid papers I took at university went over the basics of hydrostatic and dynamic fluid forces (More for civil applications like dams and water gates or buoys etc.) so I have a preliminary knowledge of how forces and buoyancy works.

I come here today in the hopes for a little more guidance in a small project I'm looking to set up in my free time. I'm looking to design a little boat at first, hopefully out of wood or metal and attach an old motor to it. Thinking about this I know there is a heap of thinking to do about concerns with durability and construction but first I'd like to understand the process into designing a hull so it won't buckle or fail in bending.

I have no starting point on where to start I did have a slight look into designing the hull in a structural engineering software but the aluminium thickness for my barge shaped hull became so large I felt I was doing something wrong considering other hulls of similar sizes had much thinner aluminium. I was also put off by a friend who took a preliminary boat design course said that the main forces you would want to consider on the hull aren't the hydrostatic pressures but the wave actions on a moving boat.

To condense the story above into a small paragraph. Where do I start? I'm savvy on materials and how they work from my extensive knowledge in structural engineering but where should I begin for aspects such as getting the hulls design stresses.

If I'm going in the completely wrong design direction, please steer me in the right one because I aim for this to be a large learning process.

Thanks in advance,
    Sam