How will this boat behave in a seaway?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by melamphyrum, Jan 30, 2014.

1. melamphyrum

melamphyrum Junior Member

Hello everybody,

I am new to the forum, this is my first post. I have about 25 years of sailing experience on different boats, but none in boat design. I read a couple of introductory books, and I can tell the difference between a bluewater cruiser and a club racer, but that's it.

I have recently purchased a 1975 custom IOR 3/4 Tonner sailboat, "Rapid Transit". The boat was designed by Ben Lexcen (aka Bob Miller) and built by Custom Yacth Services, Australia using c-flex and vinylester. LOA:34.3, BMAX:10.6, BWL: 8.9, Draft: 6.0, Displ:12600

Anybody has information on the history of this boat? There isn't much info about Ben Lexcen's designs other than the famous wing keel of Australia II.

I am very curious about how this boat will behave in a seaway. So far, I only had a chance to sail her in very light winds (Bf2) which did not reveal much except that she seems to be quite tender. She is currently on the hard and I am fitting her out for offshore cruising.
    My previous boats had long keels (Folksong 25, Marieholm 32, Golden Hind 31). All of these boats tacked well, had a confortable motion, never pounded upwind, but they were quite slow and had limited maneuverability (especially the Golden Hind which needs a soccer field to turn around). Now, I am wondering how my new boat will behave compare the old ones.

When looking at hull shape of "Rapid Transit" (I attached several pictures from different angles) this is what I see (correct me if I am wrong):
    - Compared to more modern designs (racer/cruisers) a big portion of the hull is underwater, and the ratio of the hull and the fin keel is very high (almost 50:50).
    - Unlike a canoe shaped hull, she has relatively deep sections. Deep V forvard, rounded but still fairly deep amidship, and flattish aft
    - Pretty narrow at the waterline