How to repair corroded flange in stainless wet exhaust?

Discussion in 'Diesel Engines' started by Captainlabrador, Apr 21, 2009.

1. Captainlabrador

Captainlabrador New Member

Hello,

I'm pretty new to boats & engines but I've got a Volvo 290 - a 6 cyl. diesel in a 44 foot cruiser (homebuilt by someone else back in 1987).

The exhaust has a leak - the flange on this huge stainless steel exhaust pipe is corroded right through. It is a "wet" exhaust - the cooling water goes from the engine int the exhaust.

Anyway - I'm looking for a good way to fix it, but can't find any similar systems on line.

Aplogies if this isn't the right place to ask ... it isn't really a "design" question.

2. Guest62110524

Guest62110524 Previous Member

hi
    ss hates warm salt water
    you need post a pic
    Looks like you will need machine up a new flangle from 2205 which has good corrosion props and high tensile strength(not that you need high tensile at all) post a pic let's have a look
    you could make up a pattern have it cast in gunmetal, which would last 1000 years or just fabricate one from a high grade pipe steel and coreten last another 15 years

3. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Capt.L.

Since the exhaust is already S.Steel, do you know what type it is? As this will affect the repairs service life. If it is lesser quality, it may mean a totally new exhaust; since to weld it with a patch, if that is what you are intending to do (depends upon the size of the penetration), may cause more problems than it fixes.

4. Captainlabrador

Photos

Thanks for the replies.

Here are a couple of photos.

P4220040.JPG

P4220041.JPG

The problem is that the flange on the left side has a hole corroded around about 40% of the "neck".

I've taken the exhaust out of the boat & the photos show it upside down compared to how it is installed in the boat.

The exhaust is connected to a Volvo Penta 6 cylinder diesel I/O - model 280 or 290. Boat was built in mid 1980's.