Your Stern Tube Assemblies

Discussion in 'Inboards' started by Salmoneyes, Sep 22, 2018.

1. Salmoneyes

Salmoneyes Junior Member

I looked over the forum for coverage on this topic, and really did not find what I was looking for.

I am rebuilding this old 12m steel ketch from the keel up, and I am looking at the options for my stern tube assembly, specifically seals and bearings.
    I happen to have something I am not familiar with currently, and even though I think it is an interesting idea, it failed miserably. The damage from spraying sea water in the engine room shows it had been an ongoing battle that for whatever reason, was not resolved.

I am no expert, so I read and listen to everything. I would like some real world input on the options for seals and bearings. Whats working, what's not. Solutions to problems with what you have.

Our intentions are to spend 10 years sailing the world with no set plans and no hurry to get anywhere. We have a robust budget and our plan is to build a boat that will safely accomplish that goal.

2. kapnD

kapnD Senior Member

Since this is your post and your boat that needs help, why don’t you start by posting an accurate description of your existing system with photos and measurements, then detail the problems you’re having with it?

3. Salmoneyes

Salmoneyes Junior Member

Ours was set up with a Tapered roller bearing at the front of the stern tube, with what looks like and oiler, although it was not there when I disassembled it. At the prop end, we had a large bronze nut with a rubber seal that screwed to the end of the stern tube. The shaft rode in a short 2 inch stave. I have never seen a set up like it before, and it was built in Sweden..
    It was seized up solid, and would not turn. Bearings are rusted away to mulch.
    Purpose of this post was more geared towards finding out the pros and cons of typical stern tube assemblies available.