Houseboat hull design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by zed shaarani, Aug 29, 2013.

1. zed shaarani

zed shaarani Junior Member

I hope this is the correct forum for my query. I want to build a houseboat, approx. 30x20 ft. using plastic/polyurethane 40 gallon drums to build the pontoon. The houseboat does not need an engine as I can tow it with my boat if it needs to move elsewhere.
    Can anyone assist me with plans, ideas, advice, etc. ???
    The houseboat will be anchored in a tidal flat water river with alternating fresh and salt water I live in the tropics, so there are no situations with freezing weather.
    This will be a DIY project that I have no experience with, so I need all the help I can get. Thanks
    Marangman.

2. Wavewacker

Wavewacker Senior Member

I see you've had no response. That is a barge, I'd try something more like 14 or 15 X 40/42 and I'd build an open deck area in a V that could be easier to pull when you needed to, pulling a flat wall 20' wide won't be easy in a river with any current by a small boat, I assume you don't have a 40' power boat.

Dock have been made with barrels, the ones I have seen have had metal bands around the barrels bolted to the wood frame. One I saw pulled out had the wood frame down about a third of the height of the barrels boxing in a couple barrels at a time.

You'll need to be able to replace them as they can leak, get gouged or damaged. They will tend to roll out if pulled too fast.

You might consider building a plywood pontoon and fill the pontoon with the barrels as flotation.