How to Project Model onto Surface? Rhino

Discussion in 'Software' started by adt2, Mar 4, 2011.

  1. adt2
    Joined: Sep 2009
    Posts: 100
    Likes: 2, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 36
    Location: Magnolia, Texas

    adt2 Senior Member

    Hey, folks -

    I've been noodling around in Rhino, and I've now got a basic hull shape that I'd like to work on in AutoCAD. However, when I export it, I get 3D lines in AutoCAD (i.e. they have some Z value other than 0).

    How can I take, say, a profile view of my hull and squish it down onto a flat plane for use in a 2D drafting environment? I'm not trying to do modeling in AutoCAD - just draw some details that I find easier to do in 2D.

    Thanks,

    Andy
     
  2. DCockey
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 4,885
    Likes: 424, Points: 83, Legacy Rep: 1485
    Location: Midcoast Maine

    DCockey Senior Member

    Make2D
     
  3. adt2
    Joined: Sep 2009
    Posts: 100
    Likes: 2, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 36
    Location: Magnolia, Texas

    adt2 Senior Member

    Isn't there something a lot more difficult I could try?

    I learn something new every day....thanks for the pointer.
     
  4. DCockey
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 4,885
    Likes: 424, Points: 83, Legacy Rep: 1485
    Location: Midcoast Maine

    DCockey Senior Member

    ProjectToCPlane ;)
     

  5. Joe Petrich
    Joined: Jun 2008
    Posts: 165
    Likes: 10, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 141
    Location: PNW

    Joe Petrich Designer

    Here's an alternative. I have exported to AutoCAD directly without the lines being in 3D. You won't get hidden lines but that can be a benefit in some cases such as when creating a lines plan where you don't want anything hidden.

    1. Grab the geometry you want in the view you want.
    2. Export to AutoCAD file and create an export scheme with the Project to plane option set to View. Save this scheme with a different name so you can use it over again.

    The resulting .dwg file should have all the lines on one plane. Just to be sure you can use the AutoCAD "flatten" command.
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.