Row boat for hire 18ft design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Danny White, May 30, 2011.

1. Danny White

Danny White Junior Member

Ok here go's im going to open up a can of worms me thinks!

I'll start with who i am and then move onto what i'm trying to achieve.

I started looking into boat design as a project purely to learn solidworks CAD.

And quickly fell in love with the subject of boats , i have spent many a lunch time reading the forum's on the site and love the complex mix of processional armature and novice comments , the balance makes for a good read.

I'm an Novice builder of but one 9ft hard chine ply boat , designed by myself.

I'm no designer , but can model and interpret a bit in Cad.

I've decided my home town could sustain a small row boat for hire business , I have two sons 14 and 11 who I would like to carve out a local business for.

I have look at purchasing locally built craft for the job Salters Steamers row boats. But my business model cannot support the outlay or general look for these.

I have also looked at purchasing Second hand Char boats from the lakes but they will take allot of looking after and i will be dry storing the boats out of season which may degrade them quicker ?

Hiring out small boats is a weather/numbers game and 1 will need to start with at least 6 craft.

My only option is therfore to design and make my own craft, this is where i need the help . I have several criteria to meet :

1 They must look traditional
    2 They must be very stable for novice rowers
    3 They will need to carry 4 to 5 people at a push
    4 Easily built and maintainable stitch and glue
    5 Built in Buoyancy.

I can create flat patterns using the sheet Metal function in solidworks and propose to cut sheet marine ply using cad patterns.