How to know if the boat you are designing does not infringe with any patents

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Alex008080, Nov 17, 2022.

1. Alex008080

Alex008080 New Member

Hi all, I'm new to the marine world and I've always dreamed of designing and building my own boat one day. Since I started designing, I quickly noticed that many bow shapes were patent protected, like the Ulstein x-bow, and the axe bow. And now come the trouble, how do I design a vessel without infringing on patents. I've attached a picture of my design, and the concept that I found on internet which had influenced me. Thanks for reading through, any help will be very appreciated!
    Screenshot_20221117-011252_Chrome.jpg

2. Andrew Kirk

Andrew Kirk Pedal boater.

I don't see that a patent infringement is relevant if it's just for personal use.

portacruise and Kayakmarathon like this.
  3. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

Welcome to the Forum Alex.
    Re the picture of your design, how big is the boat going to be when you build it, and what will the construction material be?
    What do you want to use it for?
    You need to establish your Statement of Requirements first - try to make it as detailed as possible, as to what you will expect this boat to be capable of doing for you.
    Once you have done this, then you can start designing.

4. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

5. Alex008080

Alex008080 New Member

For Canadian regulations, it's different, and for your point to apply, you have to make sure no one sees it.

Attached Files:

6. Alex008080

Alex008080 New Member

Thanks for the info gonzo, if it's a utility patent, like the x-bow, it protects the functionality, as you can probably tell, my very rough design aim to work somewhat similar to the x-bow in terms of cutting through waves. Is that something that I can be sued for? And what about other designs in the vessel hull design protection program that I didn't know about, but used in the design, am I liable?