how to get started

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by admiraltom, Nov 4, 2012.

1. admiraltom

admiraltom New Member

First I would like to introduce myself a little. I'm thomas I am extremely interested in boat designing and building but I'm a complete amateur. I do plan on attending a university and studying ocean engineering or naval architecture. However that probably won't happen for at least another year or two. I would however like to get a head start. That being said I have a question, i was wondering if there are any books I can read to get me familiar with designing, processes taken, planning, and evaluating my designs. Also I would appreciate any advice you have on the subject thank you for your time :)

2. rwatson

rwatson Senior Member

Admiraltom, Welcome to the site. I am very sorry to report that there are no books at all on the topic, and if you do a search on this forum, you will not find dozens of similar threads asking the same question.

Likewise, Googling books on design, planning and design processes are forbidden on the internet, and you will not find any information on them at all.

Of course - I may be totally wrong :)

Try having a look at this recent discussion, and see if it has any info you can use

http://www.boatdesign.net/forums/boat-design/making-scale-cardboard-model-45220-5.html#post591828

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Welcome aboard Tom. Of course, there are many texts on the various subjects, from novice interest to in depth specifics. The book store here can help as well as your favorite book seller.

4. michael pierzga

michael pierzga Senior Member

Google Amazon for Half hull modeling by David King. Its a wonderful little book that explains how they did it in the old days. One of those books that you will keep for the rest of your life. Building models wont make you a naval architect but will help you understand the lines, terminolgy , style. Real naval architecture is all about engineering and mathmatics.