How To Calculate Tension Of The Towline

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by SeaManiac, Dec 20, 2007.

1. SeaManiac

SeaManiac Guest

Dear boat enthusiast,
    great to be this forum member, i've been working in tug and barge operator for almost three years..
    this year was the worst one...since one of our tug had unable to control her barge (towed) caused her towline was parted.
    i wonder you guys could help me to find out the simple way to estimate the tendion works on the towline, so i could briefly explain the Big boss to settle the matter...
    tug spec.:
    LOA = 30 mtr
    beam = 8 mtr
    draft = 4 mtr (max)
    speed = max 10 knots (free running)
    BHP = 3200

barge spec:
    length = 115 fts
    beam = 26 mtr
    draft = 1.0 mtr (light)
    no prop. with spoons type bow.

appreciate if you guys could help me to work with this matter...big cheer :confused:

2. Kay9

Kay9 1600T Master

SWL on the tow line should be at least 1.5 times the gross wieght of the towed vessel. Scope of the towline should be at least 6 times the length of the towed vessel. I have no idea how you would caculate the actual strain on the towline without a device on your tow winch showing the bollard pull. But if you parted a towline you can probably bet your towline SWL had been severly reduced due to age or your towline's SWL was WAY too small to start with. If you are in heavy seas and you see the catnary of your towline coming taught then you need to pay out more scope, to reduce the stress on the towline.

Some info that would be helpful here would be the size of your towline and its make, (IE Manilla, nylon etc) and the weight of the barge you are towing. Also the conditions you found yourself when your towline parted.

3. Guest625101138

Guest625101138 Previous Member

If you give some more detail like the prop diameter and the maximum prop rpm I can estimate the bollard pull from your 3200HP engine. I expect it would be up around 25 to 30T.