how strong are my frames?

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Joris, Jun 8, 2013.

1. Joris

Joris Junior Member

Ok, total beginner here. I'm building frames and just need to know if i'm on the right track and what my next step should be. Even if this means starting over.

After a little life-changing experience i made my bucket-list and a building a wooden boat topped the list (improving my english is also on it, please give me some time for that:D) Short story, i picked up a big load of african mahogany planks, about 80 years old, as dry as they get but only 20-21mm thick.
    I wanted to learn so i started lofting a Hacker. The plans call for 1 inch thick frames. So i made each frame twice in 15mm with the pieces joining in different places so i get 2 overlaps on each corner, then i put the two frames on top op eachother with 4 brass screws in each corner (and a few more on long parts) with Poxy-grip from Glen-L. The 15mm pieces are about 3 inches wide.
    Question; do i bolt through the two frames instead of the screws, do i put extra pieces over the corners, or am i good to go?

Thanks!
    Joris

2. Petros

Petros Senior Member

Laminating frames is an acceptable way to get the strength you need, but it is not clear to me what exactly you are doing. Are the planks you have all so short you are actually splicing the frames? how is that splice made? Please provide a sketch or picture of the configuration, it does not sound like what you are doing is the correct way to go about it, but it is not clear exactly how you are building up the frames.

Do not use brass screws, they will corrode away, you want to use silicon-bronze or stainless fasteners.

3. Joris

Joris Junior Member

Petros,
    Looks like i made a small mistake in the message there, the screws i'm using are the silicone bronze (also from Glen-L) not brass as i wrote.