how many people work with dual monitors?

Discussion in 'General Computing' started by tux, Nov 17, 2002.

?

Does your cad system have dual monitors?

  1. I use dual monitors and love having all the space

    96 vote(s)
    68.1%
  2. I would prefer one even larger monitor to two monitors

    14 vote(s)
    9.9%
  3. Imperfect software support has kept me from getting dual monitors yet

    2 vote(s)
    1.4%
  4. I have no need for a second monitor - one screen is plenty

    17 vote(s)
    12.1%
  5. Other

    12 vote(s)
    8.5%
  1. pistnbroke
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 1,405
    Likes: 34, Points: 48, Legacy Rep: 404
    Location: Noosa.Australia where god kissed the earth.

    pistnbroke I try

    only and ancient like you would know that ....

    stick with the ladyboys.....
     
  2. masalai
    Joined: Oct 2007
    Posts: 6,823
    Likes: 121, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 1882
    Location: cruising, Australia

    masalai masalai

    I go for intellectual capacity and broad knowledge in women and since most women claim to be able to multitask... - Ladyboys may make nice eye candy but NOTHING else - - except for amusement to see others 'proud' of "the beautiful girl" they have for company, and, I lay bets to see if he will know it is a ladyboy...

    Monitors. :?: I have several and currently laptop limitations reduce that to 2 whilst on the boat...

    18 November 2002 - that makes this thread 10 years young, but still relevant and I have maintained forum theme by mentioning my BOAT....
     
  3. king_cobra1212
    Joined: Jan 2013
    Posts: 1
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: India

    king_cobra1212 New Member

    I dont have requirement of dual monitor.
     
  4. Moggy
    Joined: Feb 2011
    Posts: 181
    Likes: 8, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 76
    Location: Somewhere else!

    Moggy Senior Member

    2 x 22" + 1 x 17" (set @ 90 degrees).

    I couldn't live with one.
     
  5. johnhazel
    Joined: Jun 2008
    Posts: 250
    Likes: 5, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 60
    Location: Michigan

    johnhazel Senior Member

    I built a Linux workstation anticipating long term OPENFoam based hydrodynamics calculations. It included two 1920x1200 monitors attached to a Radeon HD 4870 512Mb video card. This system worked very well with CAELinux 2010 which is an Ubuntu 10.04 LTS based distribution that includes pre-installed OPENFoam.

    When I updated to the Ubuntu 12.04 LTS based version, this system developed issues with the dual screens. I re-installed the 10.04 version and the problem was gone again. Since then the project has been put on the back burner because of the gigantic time investment needed which is made worse by issues related to Linux hardware support. I have repeatedly experienced a cycle of "That hardware is too new. The drivers aren't ready." and the drivers not getting put right before "We no longer are developing the drivers for your hardware. It's too old."

    So I have installed Windows 7 on this machine and gave it to a relative that does desktop publishing. It's an AMD Phenom II 980 and is about half as fast as a calculator as the recent Intel models. I bought an i7-4700MQ based laptop to replace it. Unfortunately this is in the "Hardware is too new. Drivers not right yet." stage.... again.
     
  6. lewisboats
    Joined: Oct 2002
    Posts: 2,329
    Likes: 128, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 1603
    Location: Iowa

    lewisboats Obsessed Member

  7. yipster
    Joined: Oct 2002
    Posts: 3,486
    Likes: 96, Points: 58, Legacy Rep: 1148
    Location: netherlands

    yipster designer

    Otoh most modern software has lots of floating menus. Autodesk now also mentioned its handy to place menus and more on a second screen. Actually sort of an old trick I never used. Did had a go with one mouse on both screens so getting a second cheap used monitor now to double the surface. Anyone has any better info on how to ride two screens with one program and mouse than: o everyone nowadays works this way, its easy, good luck. Probably is, is it ?
     
  8. yipster
    Joined: Oct 2002
    Posts: 3,486
    Likes: 96, Points: 58, Legacy Rep: 1148
    Location: netherlands

    yipster designer

  9. tom kane
    Joined: Nov 2003
    Posts: 1,767
    Likes: 48, Points: 58, Legacy Rep: 389
    Location: Hamilton.New Zealand.

    tom kane Senior Member

    how many people work with dual monitors

    I use 5 monitors and several operating systems and 5 separate computers
    because some software is not compatible and does not work well on some operating systems. Some with two monitors sometimes.
    Networked.
     
  10. cmckesson
    Joined: Jun 2008
    Posts: 161
    Likes: 7, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 55
    Location: Vancouver BC

    cmckesson Naval Architect

    My office computer uses three monitors.
    All of our design computers use dual monitors. This is handy because a CAD graphic image can be displayed on the big one, while dialog boxes, web pages, spreadsheet calculations, etc. occupy the smaller one.
     
  11. tom kane
    Joined: Nov 2003
    Posts: 1,767
    Likes: 48, Points: 58, Legacy Rep: 389
    Location: Hamilton.New Zealand.

    tom kane Senior Member

    I have a terrible time at the moment with my cursor insertion point jumping around when typing and making it very difficult to type.
    I have not looked at mouse settings or sensitivity yet but will try that first.
    Any other ideas.Windows 8 updated to 8.1 OS
     

  12. tdem
    Joined: Oct 2013
    Posts: 130
    Likes: 5, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 41
    Location: NZ

    tdem Senior Member

    If a laptop - there is a setting to disable the touchpad while typing.
     
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.