How many layers of material will it take?

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by Bigoledude, Aug 4, 2010.

1. Bigoledude

Bigoledude New Member

If we must build our pontoons for our houseboat, we will probably choose to use fiberglass. My intension is to have the pontoons designed with the basic shape of a jon-boat with a top, 30 to 40 feet long.

They would have a bulkhead every 6-feet. The top and bottom would be 3/8-inch to 1/2-inch thick. The sides would be 1/4-inch thick.

An online vendor told me to use two materials. He said that 1 1/2oz mat and a combo product of 1 1/2oz mat and 24oz woven roving would make a solid pontoon.

How thick would two layers of the two products come to?

How many layers of material would it take to achieve 1/4-inch thickness and, how many for 3/8-inch?

Is there a better choice of materials to use? How many layers would it take to produce my desired thickneses?

2. Herman

Herman Senior Member

I am not good at imperial, but 1 1/2 oz mat equals 450 grams (correct me if I am wrong) which will give approx 1mm when hand laminated.

24 oz woven roving is 600 grams/m2?? Then approx 0,8mm.

1/4 inch is 6,35mm, 3/8 inch is 9.5mm, so you can do the math...

Is there a better choice? Probably not, or the combo material could be skipped if it is expensive. CSM and Woven roving are (still) cheap.

3. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member

24oz roving is close to 820grams in real measurements
    Im a bit like you , find it hard to think in imperial any more .
    Its easyer to find a roving with a csm P matt already stitched to the back of it and then you can lay the material much quicker and better . 2x 450csm P matt to start and the the rest rovmatt (as we call it here ) with the csm facing up not down and carry o the same till its finished all the required layers !!

Anyone know why i always suggest P matt for the csm layer and not E matt ???:confused:

4. tinhorn

tinhorn Senior Member