How many hulls ?

Discussion in 'Stability' started by PsiPhi, Feb 2, 2009.

1. PsiPhi

PsiPhi Newbie

Hi,
    I'm a newbie, just building a little skiff to learn to sail in.

Thinking ahead.
    I'm planning on a small trailer sailer - take the family out for day trips or picnics, maybe some weekend trips with the wife.

Trouble is the family are a little apprehensive about sailing (or my abilities :eek:)
    They say they'd be happier in a catamaran because (they think) they are more stable.

I thought, that makes sense, seemed logical.

There is a very good, active, yahoo group for Jarcats, which seem like a good option for a small home built family multi-hull. Trouble is, they all seem to tip their boats over, often more than once, and they are a bugger to right again.
    Maybe they are just more experienced sailors pushing their boats to the limits?

Anyway, my question is, is a multihull really a more stable option for a novice sailors than a mono?
    Biased opinions welcome, just tell me which way you swing (figuratively speaking).

Cheers

Simon.

2. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Multihulls in the smaller sizes are wet, wet boats. They do not need to capsize to make you look like you did.
    Some monohulls are wet boats too, but many more are dry, whole season boats that you sit down in.
    Stability is a function of crew placement on any small sailboat. The most important thing to tell your family is that everyone takes part in the operation of the boat, and those who don't will be in the way like so much dead weight. A multi is stable at rest, but they carry a huge sail relative to their weight and hence crew weight is less effectrive on them. In other words, they demand more skill to stay upright in a real breeze no matter how wonderfully flat they sail in modest winds.