Howto: Import sailing yacht from USA to EU?

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by B33RND, Sep 24, 2009.

1. B33RND

B33RND Member

I am planning to buy a second hand sailing yacht at Chicago, USA, and import it to the UK.

As I have never done this before I would like to ask you some advise how to do and where to take care of: Is payment usually done via a local agent; what about VAT when importing to EU; is there a kind of refund of US tax when exporting; which shipping company is recommended for transport; etc. etc.

Thanks for any applicable information.

2. apex1

apex1 Guest

Payment is done by LC if you want to stay safe!
    VAT has to be paid on entry
    US tax will be refunded when the boat leaves the US

Call "Kühne & Nagel" (the largest and best worldwide) they handle it all for you! And much cheaper than you could handle it yourself!

Regards
    Richard

3. B33RND

B33RND Member

What means 'LC'?

Is that also the case with second hand boats?

Berend

4. apex1

apex1 Guest

I´m not sure about second hand goods, but it should be.

LC is Letter of Credit, that is the most reliable way for both parties in international trades to get what they have agreed.

You will not get the boat if the Bank does´nt pay the seller, he will not get your money until the boat is safe on board the freighter.

Call K&N as mentioned, they handle that for you.http://www.kn-portal.com/locations/
    if you do´nt like the Germans residing in Switzerland, go with the Austrians owned by Germans:http://www.schenker.com/

Regards
    Richard

5. Crag Cay

Crag Cay Senior Member

Don't forget to thoroughly research to what extent you will need to comply with the RCD in the EU.

6. B33RND

B33RND Member

Well, the boat I am focusing on is CE-A certified. I will at least make sure that this sheet of paper is available. Or are there more things to take care of??

Berend

7. apex1

apex1 Guest

No!