How do I go from simple hull design/lines plan to dimensioned plans/

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Shawnzoom, May 11, 2012.

1. Shawnzoom

Shawnzoom I'm here to learn

Hi There,

I've spent a large chunk of my life living close to the sea. I have owned a 34' Bayliner, a 26' Whaler and I currently own a 29' Searay Amberjack. Looking to downsize to something I can (design and/or build) haul with a trailer. Primary boat use will be fishing and day cruising the San Juan islands.

I have be doing some research (reading) on boat design and building:

Sam Devlin, Ted Brewer, Dave Gerr, Roger Fletcher, Greg Rossel, Francis Kinney, The Gougeon brothers, etc. I think I now have a pretty good picture on many of the keys elements of wooden boat design and building.

Being a software engineer, I would very much like to experiment with a few designs using some kind of design software. I have downloaded some ‘freeware’ FreeShip, DelfShip, Carlson Hull design, demos of ProBasic and MaxSurf.

Surprise, surprise, I ‘bonded’ with MaxSurf. However, at $4000+ (apparently you can only purchase in suite form, now) for a license and then hundreds in annual subscription fees. I can’t afford to purchasing MaxSurf. I’d gladly pay hundreds of dollars for the hull modler. I don’t want to build ships, I just want to have some fun designing small ( 20ft or less) boats. If you work for Formsys and are willing to help me out, just ping me.

The other packages, I appreciate the fact FreeShip, DelfShip and Carlson Hull design are free, but they all lack the usability (user friendliness) of modern software. If any has suggestions for an, easy to use, hull design software package, that does not cost thousands of dollars please let me know.