How crazy is this design?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Ernie Pantuso, Jul 3, 2020.

1. Ernie Pantuso

Ernie Pantuso New Member

I have zero boat design experience, so the following may seem ridiculous and/or totally outlandish to those of you who do - but I've had recurring dreams about living on this boat so I'd love to know if it's feasible. (I believe this idea found it's way into my dreams because "Kon Tiki" is one of my very favorite books - I'm just replacing the raft with multiple hulls and expanding the little hut in the middle of the raft!) You may laugh uproariously at the ignorance that follows, but I'd appreciate knowing what the flaws are with my idea.

I'm thinking about a radical multi-hull design in which 6 thick aluminum crossbeams would be laid across and attached to the top sides of 2 (or maybe 3 if necessary) 46' fiberglass hulls. A large cabin (the entire living area of the boat - 30 feet long by 20 feet wide) would then sit atop the cross beams, creating (hopefully) a seaworthy/oceangoing houseboat with a beam of 24 feet.

There'd be no living space in the hulls - just storage. (Water/holding tanks, and various other items.) There'd be 2 additional "outrigger" type hulls that would expand the boat's beam to 32 feet or so (maybe more). Four of the cross-beams would have an inner section that telescopes outward, extending these "outrigger" hulls out by 10-12 feet to create additional deck space when at anchor - effectively creating our own little private island. For traveling, the decking would be rolled up and lashed down and the auxiliary hulls would be drawn in and secured. One of the primary goals of this setup is to be able to detach any one of the hulls and tow it to a boat yard for repairs/maintenance/bottom painting, etc. Haul outs, I think, would be a lot less expensive. Tow it back, bolt it in place, do another hull a couple months later.