How can I make a gas engine run on WVO?

Discussion in 'Gas Engines' started by confused, Feb 12, 2009.

  1. confused
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 155
    Likes: 1, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 19
    Location: Nevada

    confused New Member

    What do ya mean, "Reinvent the wheel?"
    I get thrown, I don't stay "throwed" for long.
    If it comes to inhumane treatment, I will do
    whatever it takes to get away from
    America.
    MIKE
     
  2. robherc
    Joined: Dec 2008
    Posts: 432
    Likes: 5, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 102
    Location: US/TX

    robherc Designer/Hobbyist

    OK , confused, now I'm really going to have to set into you for a second.
    Please do note the "Location: Germany" at the top, right-hand corner of every one of Richard's posts...then QUIT CORRECTING A GERMAN for grammatical errors in ENGLISH, it's not his first (and may not even be his second) language! If we were having this conversation in German, i'm QUITE sure that your grammar would be FAR worse!
     
  3. confused
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 155
    Likes: 1, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 19
    Location: Nevada

    confused New Member

    right. I see. sorry 'bout that apex.
    I don't get the world.
    How can I have more torque than
    a 1hp engine?
    HP is MADE OF TORQUE.
    I don't have 1hp, or do I?
    What I mean is if I took
    a 1hp engine, and used it
    to power my bike, it would
    SUCK. I can power my bike
    with ease.
    The world is confusing.
    My bike is not a changeable gear bike either.

    mike
     
  4. apex1

    apex1 Guest

    last time you tried to correct me:eek:
     
  5. apex1

    apex1 Guest

    Sorry Michael, did not see that post.
    Has nothing to do with reinventing the wheel... just try... I totally agree with you, not to follow the old path (ahh we did it alltimes like that).

    You cannot have more torque than the engine can provide, nor more power in hp or kw, that is a written law! A law of nature.......
    You can transmit the given power in different ways, which can be a solution?
    More torque at less power (and vice versa).
    But your engine (the birthday gift?) has about 200 to 400 w that is almost less than half a hp max.
    I am willing to design a affordable boiler for you, if you are willing to make the boaring engineering yourself!
    Means, I grant you access to a proper CAD program, you study that, get firm with it, and follow my advice!
    Then, beg steel or borrow the crap to do a (safe) boiler and solder it yourself!
    It is not so difficult as a layman thinks it is.
    OK?
     
  6. confused
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 155
    Likes: 1, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 19
    Location: Nevada

    confused New Member

    I have a soldering iron. Everything should work out. I am willing to do the "boaring engineering myself," I guess as long as I have a cad.
    I need 2 more tin cans though, and I need your advice most of all.
    What type of solder wire should I use?
    what's the best way I can safely cut a hole thru the boiler for the smoke stack?
     
  7. apex1

    apex1 Guest

    Ahh. yavas avas, the Turks say. slowly, slowly dear friend. First we start to learn the CAD stuff. That takes at least 4 weeks (you´re a bright one, otherwise 8 month). then we do our first attempt to destroy the hardware! And be shure we will........
    It is not so really sort of, say correct, to grant you access to the software, cause you are neither student, nor a University, but (if my fellow members agree to make a sort of state of crisis) I´ll give you the software through PM.
    I want at least one of our members to agree or disagree, here in the open.
    Then, my young fellow, the harder side of the road appears.:D
    Stand it.
    Regards
    Richard
    btw: telephone and light bulb?:idea:

    Regards
    Richard
     
  8. apex1

    apex1 Guest

    He did not know that I was right, before your post popped up... ähh.. I´m shure.
     
  9. robherc
    Joined: Dec 2008
    Posts: 432
    Likes: 5, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 102
    Location: US/TX

    robherc Designer/Hobbyist

    I'd say he looks like YOUR engineering student to me...that qualifies it enough IMHO. :cool:
     
  10. apex1

    apex1 Guest

    OK... got it............
    even if the 0,02$ is´nt worth talking:D
    just my 0,02€
    love it or leave it.
    and good night ......it´s 4 o clock here...
     
  11. confused
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 155
    Likes: 1, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 19
    Location: Nevada

    confused New Member

    I also need a presure gauge. My dad has one on a can of freon gas, but he said that the can ain't empty yet so I'll just buy one for the heck of it.
    I think I might mix some charcoal with wood in the boiler, then when the fire's going, I just use wood since it burns slower.
     
  12. confused
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 155
    Likes: 1, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 19
    Location: Nevada

    confused New Member

    4:00? a.m or p.m? probably a.m where he lives. When he said that it's 4 o' clock where he lives, it was about 7:00 p.m where I live. big time differance.
    The latest I've stayed up is about 2:00 a.m. Ha! good night! more like good very early morning!
     
  13. confused
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 155
    Likes: 1, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 19
    Location: Nevada

    confused New Member

    yes. That's why I'm going to use it.
     
  14. apex1

    apex1 Guest

    Its easier to ignite small branches of wood than charcoal, save the money (Daddy´s). Just use several pages of newspaper. The draft in your chimney has to be high so the wood always ignites easily. Find out if you have access to some pitcoal (lays around often in the backyard of your fuel oil suppliers if they sold it in the past, they give it for free).
    I have to design the boiler to the fuel given, and pitcoal is the far better (and lighter).
    Do you have friendly blacksmith next door? The most important man for you, from now on.
    Regards
    Richard
     

  15. confused
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 155
    Likes: 1, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 19
    Location: Nevada

    confused New Member

    I know how to make a high draft in the chimney, all I need is to put the exhaust pipe through the chimney so it's pointing upward, and the exshaust steam will suck it out.
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.