honeycomb question

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by nieuwhout83, Feb 28, 2010.

1. nieuwhout83

nieuwhout83 New Member

I am a semi-professional Dutch windsurfboard builder. My mainproducts are custombuild race- / slalom- / speedboards. I use carbon, kevlar and glass with epoxid resin in combination with pvc sandwichfoam by vacuümbagging. I want to make some real progress in weigth and stifness, so I'm testing kevlar honeycomb in stead of pvc foam sandwich. I am very aware of the importance of the bonding between the sandwich layer and the two glass /carbon / kevlar layers. Esp. with honeycomb this is difficult, because of the small contact. I'd like to have some good tips from people who are using this material for a longer period.

My questions are:
    1. What gives the best bonding with kevlar honeycomb? Glass, carbon or kevlar?

2. Are there some tricks to get better bonding?
    (I'm thinking about sanding the HC and rolling epoxy resin on the HC before putting on the cloth and filling the HC with pu foam on the critical aerias)

3. What are the expected problems in short and longer period of use?

Regards,
    Gertjan Nieuwenkamp
    info@iq-boards.com
    www.iq-boards.com

2. Herman

Herman Senior Member

Roll some thickened epoxy (not too thick) on the core. Then apply the top laminate. The thickened epoxy should be there to create small fillets on every cell wall.

Highly impacted cells can be potted, eg filled with thick epoxy.

The laminate you put on is not much of an influence for bonding strength, the right amount and right consistency of the epoxy for the fillets is...

Problems you can expect is a limited compression strength, with catastrophic failure (below the footstraps). Even foam is of limited use there. Unless a high density foam is used, of course.

3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member