mercury fourstroke

Discussion in 'Outboards' started by garrybull, Dec 5, 2015.

1. garrybull

garrybull Senior Member

i have a pair of merc 115 fourstrokes fitted to my boat.

current props are 12 3/4 x 21.

does anyone know if i can fit 14" diameter props off the 150 fourstroke.

reason im asking is my boat is not heavy so the engines could easily spin a bigger prop.

ideally id like a pair of 13 1/2 or 13 3/4 x 21 props but i can't find any anywhere.

mercury only show 12 3/4 x 21 for the 115 but the 150 has a 14 x 21.

if the 14 x 21 prop fitted would it make a difference?

are the hubs the same size for the 115 and 150?

im no prop expert so any advice will be much appreciated.

2. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

I'm not up to date on the prop size selection for your engines, but you should be guided by what rpm you are reaching with the ones you have fitted, as to their suitability for the application. Compare your full-throttle rpm with the maximum rpm range specified by the maker, if you're barely entering the max RPM range given, the props are probably more than what it can cope with, allowing that a new engine might still be a little "tight". If it spins easily out into the high end of the range, they should be good. A quick look at some specs shows the gearcase has a 2.07:1 ratio, I'd be surprised if you are underpropped with 21" pitch. But without test RPM data, you can't know.

3. CDK

CDK retired engineer

Going from 12 3/4 to 14" is a big step, maybe too big. The increase in blade surface and tip speed reduces rpm at full throttle by at least 800 rpm; the reduction of available engine power (torque times rpm) will be approx. 15%.

I experienced the same when going from 13" to 14.2" on my Yamaha 100.

4. Mr Efficiency