Hull Scantling

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by SeaBoat, Feb 10, 2021.

1. SeaBoat

SeaBoat Junior Member

Hi altruist,

I am a student of Naval Architecture.
    I am week in hull scantling. I can calculate resistance, desired prop, stability and everything, but when I come in hull scantling stage, I messed up hull scantling. I want to study this from beginning. I need your help. Could you please tell me elaborately how can I start hull scantling and what is the process?

Thanks in advance.

2. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

Generally boats and ships are built to rules. These rules are are generally required by the flag state, the financier, or the insurer to ensure the safety and economic viability of the vessel. There are several to choose from, typically for small craft see ISO - 12215-6, larger vessel will have state input, such as the Indian Register of Shipping (IRClass), an international ship classification society providing ship classification and certification as well as technical inspection services.

Simply, there are three sets of major loads that need to be resisted by a vessels hull that the rules address. What the rules do is provide a minimum requirement of structural load analysis for the following items.

1) Primary Loads. This the total longitudinal bending moment forces from hydrodynamic and hydrostatic forces. The loads are primarily carried through the shell. Think of standing on an upright empty soda can...as long as the shell is straight and intact it will support your weight. Twist or bend the shell...the can collapses due to loss of symmetric section shape which overloads a portion of the shell and begins a cascade failure. Now again try stepping on an upright soda can...reach down and with a sharp nail keep putting holes in the shell...the can eventually collapses by because the loss of area causes the primary loading to exceeded the yield strength of the shell.