New Designer.... Tips? Software

Discussion in 'Software' started by cturboaddict, Sep 2, 2011.

1. cturboaddict

cturboaddict Junior Member

Hey guys, im a full time CAD student and I'm loving it. Of course we're doing small items, mostly im fairly good at Auto Cad at the moment.
    Im taking 3 Cad classes this sememster towards my degree but we mainly work in AutoDesk products. Ive just started this year in Inventor, and i really do enjoy it more over AutoCAD (could just be the solid modeling in 3D)...

Any suggestions on other programs to study/work in to get better at hull designs /boat manufacturing. Any classes or specialties that help? Of course that would be my dream to get to, but ive got to get all of my basics down before i jump in head first.

I can sketch my drawings for the draft, but my biggest problem is getting correct dimensions for putting them into any software. I would love to just replicate my own boat into CAD if possible... Seeing its too d*mn hot to sand it for more primer at the moment, I'd rather hone my CAD skills and get my boat in there to modify it and play around...

2. Leo Lazauskas

Leo Lazauskas Senior Member

CAD is definitely not getting the "basics down".
    Try mathematics, physics, and chemistry first.
    Then move onto engineering subjects, or better still, naval architecture.
    Finally, put in a few years with a reputable NA firm, or in a ship yard.

Good luck!
    Leo.

1 person likes this.
  3. cturboaddict

I know that CAD isnt the basics, but its a start in the right direction. I spent 10 years out of school working, then lost my job due to "economic situations". Decided to go back to school locally to get going. CAD is the path i sought after, and I've got a crazy love for boats.