Gel Coat Cure -

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by teewhy, May 29, 2008.

1. teewhy

teewhy Junior Member

Hello all. I'm looking for some insight and/or suggestions on my re-gel coating project.

I'm currently restoring a classic fiberglass boat and have decided to re-gel coat the entire hull rather than paint it. This is my first time dealing with gel coat but, think I've done my homework in the product and the correct process to follow, but, I'm running into cure issues that I hope someone can help with.

What I've done:

* I'm working in my garage (created a dust-free tent environment) that I've managed to keep at a constant 70-72 degrees
    * I'm using PolyGard wax-free neutral gel coat from Infinity Composites with blue/white pigments
    * I've been mixing my batches for the gel coat cup gun one Pint at a time

Coat 1: Mixed colored gel coat and hardner and covered entire hull
    Coat 2: After an hour, mixed colored gel coat and hardner and covered entire hull
    Coat 3: After another hour, mixed colored gel coat, hardener, and Wax Surfacer and covered entire hull

I measured the amounts for the hardener and wax additive precisely to the manufacturer's specifications. I was hoping the boat would have reached full cure and be ready for sanding w/in 24-48 hours. I'm now entering day three and the surface still has a tack to it - not great, but it's too tacky to think about sanding.

Should it have reached full cure by now? What can I do, if anything, to help the curing process (increase the temp in the garage, cover with plastic sheeting)? Or, am I S.O.L. and will have to re-do the whole thing? If that's the case, where'd I go wrong in the process to not make the same mistake twice?

Thanks!

2. tinhorn

tinhorn Senior Member

Has it not cured, or is the surface just tacky enough to want another coat? Do you know how long it took to reach its current state of cure?