Jon boat WITh cat sail.

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by nshoutex1965, Nov 29, 2012.

1. nshoutex1965

nshoutex1965 Junior Member

Hello all.

I have a new hobby. I plan on bulding a boat I can sail and god for bid if its wrong to say, but to drop sail and fish for a while off the coast of Galveston or Texas.....

After some help from others here, I have decided to go after a pacific pelican. I am staying with the 16 foot idea so me and my buds and family can go out.... I am having trouble finding plans so far... I am a student and the cost of the saws alone this month have put me behind.

Any positive ideas, Tips, Tricks, and warnings would be greatly appreciated.

Building this is just a hobby... I sailed when I was younger this little 2 seater in Lake Waxahachie Near Dallas. Ever since then, It got in my blood and I cant help but take notice of a sail boat, the water, or want to get out there myself. I certainly can not afford to buy my own boat however, so I am building one, and taking the time and love, to put it together. One part at a a time.

Any Ideas on the plans? Its going to be a home depot project. So these fancy boat shops are not in my price range at all.

I would like to use a cat rig.

As I mentioned, I am a student and have enjoyed reading your texts here much more than some of my school books. LOL and need to do something with my time other than read.... or party.... so this is it.

please go ahead and send positive ideas.... thoughts and comments. I know nothing except to know enough to ask the experts here.

Novice Sailer HOU TEX

its a hobby.

but should be fun.

Last edited: Nov 30, 2012
  2. DCockey

DCockey Senior Member

What are you studying?

What have you built before?

By "jon boat" do you mean a boat with flat sides and bottom and curvature?

Have you considered starting with something smaller?

3. messabout

messabout Senior Member