How Thick should a hull be ?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by WorWilly, Apr 21, 2009.

1. WorWilly

WorWilly Junior Member

I was looking to purchase a 34' motor cruiser and one window was out, (being repaired) I had the chance to see how thick the hull was it looked like 6mm gel coat, and about 10mm glass, I thought it would be a lot thicker than that ?, is that thin or about right ?

Its a 03 Sunseeker (new shape) I'm new to boating, so got a bit of a shock when I seen it so thin !

thanks

2. apex1

apex1 Guest

Thats about right, the superstructure of a 34 does´nt need more. Even in Plywood or wood Epoxy it would be about 12,5mm only.
    Regards
    Richard

3. WorWilly

WorWilly Junior Member

WoW, I thought about 2".....!

4. Fanie

Fanie Fanie

AT 2" or 50mm, have you any idea what that boat would weigh !!

Fiberglass is very strong. A standard pice of PCB is 1.6mm thick. Try breaking a non perforated piece, you'll be surprised what it takes to do.

5. ben2go

ben2go Boat Builder Wanna Be

That's one thick heavy hull.My boat is maybe .75mm,yes less that a millimeter thick.I have internal structure keeping my hull stiff and light.

6. Itchy&Scratchy

Itchy&Scratchy Senior Member

Too thick

Technically the gelcoat should be only 1.5 mm thick so that it can flex with the laminate, however I work in the boat repair game and regularly see gel that is up to 10mm thick :( - which in my opinion is too thick , thats why the boats end up full of spidercracks with the smallest impact.

Its also due to not enough supervision on the shop floor, the laminators end up loading the gel into the mould to make their jobs easier, which does make for a bit of a stiffer boat but at a cost both monetarily and structural integrity wise. Some manufacturers even put a filler coat on the back of the gel before the laminate, usually fillite mix which just makes the problem even worse.:mad:

Personally in a big boat I would be happy to see no more than 3mm thick.:)
    cheers