High speed motor sailer designs

Discussion in 'Motorsailers' started by member 76871, Apr 15, 2022.

1. member 76871

member 76871 Junior Member

Hi. I’ve been looking around the net for a high speed motor sailer. Something in the 20 to 30 foot range. Surfari is one I came across but it’s too big and too expensive. Another is the old Macgregor 26x but I hear so many bad things about those.

I’m settling down in La Paz Baja California Sur and need a boat to enjoy the sailing but also be able to get out to the islands etc quickly for the day. I would be happy with 18 or so knots, probably outboard power. And decent sailing capabilities.

I build aluminum boats for a living, mostly commercial tour or work boats from 35 to 80 feet and have access to our shop and equipment so I’m really looking for a design to build. Mono or catamaran with a slight preference for a cat.

2. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

Welcome to the Forum Chris.

What negative things have you heard about the MacGregor 26's?
    They seem to 'do the job' reasonably well, albeit with some compromises (?)

So, would you like to build a fast aluminium power cat that can sail, and is around 25' in length?

Will Gilmore likes this.
  3. member 76871

The problems I hear about the Macgregor mostly have to do with poor sailing attributes and undersized rigging. Also some stability issues without the water ballast. I’ve read lots about them and know that people who have one or have been aboard them frequently defend them. I’m sure it’s mostly down to sailors prejudice against an unconventional design and admittedly rather ugly design when compared to sailboats. I’m still open to getting one and plan to take a look when one comes up for sail nearby. I don’t want to repeat the many online discussions of the 26x.