Interlux Perfection questions

Discussion in 'Materials' started by cabinfever11, Aug 6, 2012.

1. cabinfever11

cabinfever11 New Member

Gentlemen, I've read dozens of posts concerning this coating and I have some experience as an amateur. I'm in the process of experimenting and learning to gain the "feel" of this coating and the correct amount of thinner to use in a roll and tip project outdoors on the Oregon coast. My questions are these....Since I've got 3 coats of Epoxy Primecoat on the substraight, and it's smooth, I'm about to start with my first coat of Perfection. Can I use a general rule of thumb and thin to, say, 10% and expect the paint to flow on a 65 degree, 30% day? Probably not, right? So my question is - is there a general rule of thumb to use for thinning for a particular temp/humidity range to expect a good flow and leveling? I know I can't put in a little Penetrol to help like it's varnish.

Your advice will be most helpful!! Thanks.

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

I'm not sure about Penatrol's ability to improve flow with an LPU. I do know they have flow promoters (sometimes called "wetting agents") for this product and you'd best advised to employ it.

No, there isn't any "rule" for cutting a paint to get the flow right. Generally, you want to control conditions more so than the paint. A roll and tip job is dependent on temperature and humidity. A 65 degree day with low (30%) humidity would be on the very slightly cool side of the application window, but not so much that a 10% cut would be necessary. In fact, I'll bet it'll flow nice, right out of the can in those conditions, maybe slightly heavy, but this can be controlled when rolled out.