Hey! I need your opinion on Etap 37s!

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by nunzioluka, Aug 30, 2007.

1. nunzioluka

nunzioluka Junior Member

Dears, I would introduce myself in this new forum that i have discovered since few weeks with big surprise and interest…I hope you will be patient with my English, not so perfect…

I’m not an engineer or a technician, I have started to understand something more about non dimensional data with your threads and post in this forum. I’m just a sailor who jump from a boat to another trying to enjoy as much as I can sailing an knowing new experienced sailors who can teach me something new about sea and boats.

So, at this point of my life I have decided to rent my house, pack my stuff and use a inheritance to buy a boat that I will use to live and sail around there (initially in the easy latitutudes, but who really knows where I will end up?) with my wife and trying to do some charter/ blue water sailing course for gaining some money.

I have already read all your discussion about Seaworthy (hey! 50 pages! It took me a week!) an about the perfect cruising boat… here it is my question:

can you help me to analyse the non dimensional data of the Etap 37s (the boat I was considering to buy) and in general to express a general impression from a technical and practical point of view?

My first priority is safety
    (just an example about how strange I am:
    Over 40 knot if I stay on the deck I secure to my lifejacket a little “Pony bottle”, this kind of emergency bottle divers use if they run out of air during an immersion…just in case I capsize and I remain upside down)

The data I have recollected are:

LOA 36'11" (11.26 m.)
    LWL 32'6" (9.9 m.)
    Draft 6'5" or 4'5" (1.95 or 1.35 m.)
    Beam 12' 8" (3.85 m.)
    Air Draft 56'7" (17.25 m.)
    Displacement 13,970 lbs. or 6,350 kg. (deep); 14,410 lbs. or 6,550 kg. (shoal)
    Ballast 4,400 lbs. or 2,000 kg. (deep); 4,840 lbs. or 2,200 kg. (shoal)