Hey all newbie here

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Donny2oars, May 15, 2008.

1. Donny2oars

Donny2oars Junior Member

Been doing research online and reading for months. Finally got the nerve to get into wooden boats. I found a really good deal on 1950'S home made runnabout. It needs finishing and some rot removal but all and all is in good shape. It was built by a father and son in the fifties. I have been looking around the net trying to find pics of one just like her. I have seen similiar ones but not just quite the same. One immediate question I have is about the back of the boat. It looks like it was meant to be a barrel but was never finished as one. the motor sits on wood about a half foot in from the edge and the rest is open. I have pics but cant figure how to compress them enough to post them here. Anyone know where I can host them and provide a link? Or I could send via email, thanks all Russ

2. Fanie

Fanie Fanie

Hi Donny, welcome here.

Download faststone capture - it's freeware. The screen captured pictures are a nice size for uploading. Save as JPG's.

3. Donny2oars

Donny2oars Junior Member

ok thanks here are the pics

here are the pics thanks for the help

Attached Files:

4. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Looks to be cedar strips on steamed oak. It's very unusual, with a very rounded bottom. I've never seen anything like it. My guess is that it's an experiment. Upside down it would be a barrel back. Interesting.

5. Meanz Beanz

Meanz Beanz Boom Doom Gloom Boom

I know Jack about it really but my immediate thought is that the boat would probably benefit from some rails to help handling, turning and promote earlier planing. The stern setup looks OK, looks like an attempt to limit cavitation.

6. Donny2oars

Donny2oars Junior Member