What I should do?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Abby Chan, Jan 1, 2005.

1. Abby Chan

Abby Chan Junior Member

Hi all, :)
    I am now designing a boat for 15 passengers including the boatman.
    I firstly decided that my boat length is 20m, beam is 6m, draft is 1.2m and the speed is about 10 knots.
    I know that I need to find the power required of the boat or I can say that I haven't any idea that where I should do first. Do anybody can help me (give me some guideline)or could someone give me some suggestion what I can do first?
    Best wishes,
    Abby

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Are you serious?

3. Abby Chan

Abby Chan Junior Member

Re: Are you serious?

Dear Gonzo,
    Yes, I am serious. Actually I have no experience on that, do you think there is something wrong on the parameters on my boat? or you have any comments on that? I know that there should be many mistakes on the assumptions on my boat, so please give some recommendation, thank you very much! I need your help indeed!
    Best wishes,
    Abby

4. D'ARTOIS

D'ARTOIS Senior Member

Mr Chan

Mr Chan, the reason for Gonzo's sceptical reply on your request is that quite often in this forum we are faced with invitations of 3 or 4 lines asking for advise for a project that needs a serious approach.
    The way you put your question forward does not invite for a serious look at your request.

First of all, start to explain, not only what you require, but also where it is used, in what kind of water or sea, going where, payload etc.
    We cannot advise you if your parameters are good or wrong, we have no references of what you plan to do with your intended vessel.
    In your case I may advise you to check with a local shipyard. They know more than you do and they speak your language, knowing the means of available funds and further requirements.

5. CDBarry

CDBarry Senior Member

The one thing I notice most often on this forum is exactly expressed by this query.