1-part Topside Primer over 2-part Primer

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by stan54, Apr 24, 2008.

1. stan54

stan54 Junior Member

Hi, I'm new to boat painting and I have a small problem. I have read that layering a two-part paint such as Interlux Perfection over a one-part paint like the Interlux brightside, creates a chemical reaction and it doesn't work. The previous paint job on my 20' fiberglass cuddy cabin, used a one-part paint. Therefore the primer was also the one part primer. Right now I have it sanded down to the primer. I want to put a two part top side paint because I want to do the job once, but do it right. How should I go about preparing for a paint like perfecion or awlgrip? Should I use the two- part primer like epoxy primekote and then the two part paint over that? Will the epoxy primekote, react with the one-part pre-kote? Or should I just try to chemical strip the rest of the primer and then use the epoxy primekote and perfection? If you have any ideas about other techniques or products, feel free to point them out. Thanks

2. the1much

the1much hippie dreams

sand with 220,,primer with 2 part over that,,sand with 320,,then paint ya 2 part topside

3. stan54

stan54 Junior Member

Thanks for the quick reply. I was actually reading some of your post about painting before. So, the two-part primer isn't going to react with the one-part primer and it will provide a barrier for the two-part topcoat?

4. Kaptin-Jer

Kaptin-Jer Semi-Pro

First things--Only post in one forum - you need to delete this in the design forum

I think you'll find most (not all) the people that hang around this forum are partial to Awl Grip. Even if you use Sterling I would still recommend priming with Awl grip 501 Primer. There have been a few good threads regarding painting. Look through this one. http://www.boatdesign.net/forums/showthread.php?t=20793
    --and don't let Jim scare you off

5. the1much

the1much hippie dreams

yes hehe ;)