Help with thicknesses please!

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by mr mills, Dec 6, 2008.

1. mr mills

mr mills New Member

Hi Guys

Im hoping that some of you maybe able to help me with something. I am a student in the UK studying transport design and for my final project i am designing the nect generation caravan. Now you may wonder why i am here for (i've not got lost...honest!) im planning on constructing the body of the caravan like a boat hull, so effectively it will be an upside down boat!

There is an australian caravan that has been made this way using GRP skins and a foam core. Unfortunately i cant find any technical info on this caravan and i need to know what sort of thickness of foam and GRP skins im going to have to use.

I've done a some reading into boat hull construction and i think i know how to calculate roughtly what sort of weight the lay up will weigh if i know teh ticknesses of the core and skins. But the thing is im really not sure what sort of thickness of foam and fibreglass skins i need? Considering that currently caravans have approx 30-40mm walls made up of aluminium skin with rockwool insulation.

Am i right in thinking that i should use WR matting rather than CSM due to less resin needed? Therefore less weight? And i would use Divinycell H from DIAB as the foam core ( not sure what sort of density i would need though?)

I know that there is probably a massive difference in what is required for a caravan compared to a boat but if somebody could please give me a rough idea of what sort of thicknesses it would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks for your time, Mr Mills

2. TeddyDiver

TeddyDiver Gollywobbler