hobby-horsing

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by eyschulman, May 24, 2014.

1. eyschulman

eyschulman Senior Member

Does anybody know if small active fins near the bow of displacement yachts has been used to dampen hobby -horsing? The typical aft trim tabs are used for running attitude and I am not aware of units that can activate fast enough for this purpose. While canard type fins could change their orientation rapidly and be controlled by chips and attitude sensors. I also wounder if this would work best with a sharp wave piercing type bow.

2. Rurudyne

Rurudyne Senior Member

Though I have not heard about using them for this (which really doesn't mean much, I'm no expert, just stating a fact) I have read about one gent experimenting, using scale models, with controlled bow planes in order to modify/control the form of the bow wave as part of his investigation into bow waves etc.

http://www.ivorbittle.co.uk/Article...he bulbous bow for my site This one again.htm

While what you bring up was not his concern, looking at figures 44-46 it does in fact seem like he was also lifting or dropping the bow at the same time as well as modifying the bow wave.

I would guess that what you are after will require some form of, um, "swim by wire" system to manage the fine tuning without human input.

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

With computer controlled actuators, you should be able to "keep up" with trim states, though this is an expensive way to handle a problem.

It might be easier if you explain what you are trying to achieve, on what boat, etc.

4. eyschulman

eyschulman Senior Member