help with calibrating a Binks 2001 GW

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by Pennyanparts, Feb 19, 2009.

1. Pennyanparts

Pennyanparts Junior Member

I have been using this Binks 2001GW set up for about 6 months for some small hatch production (1-2 per month) but basically guessing how to properly calibrate the catylist...anyone use this and have any advice?

Thanks

Tom
    pennyan@eznet.net

2. Eagle Boats

Eagle Boats Senior Member

Hey TJ, how you doing? Why don't you just use a cup gun.

Joe S.

3. Pennyanparts

Hey joe,

I really like this setup...its an external mix gun so I can start and stop as much as I want and do not have to clean it out or worry about gel setting up in the head, and I can shoot a gallon at a time...more if I want to add a bigger pressure pot.

its a great system, amayzing no one else uses it!

Building anything lately?

4. ondarvr

ondarvr Senior Member

Nobody uses it because there’s no way to tell how much catalyst is being dispensed. It seems like a great idea and if you could meter the catalyst and get it even close to the correct ratio it would be.

5. Pennyanparts

Thus the posted question. the binks instructions do outline a proceedure, basically spray into a cup for a particular time frame and weight, I just found more material blows all over the place then in the cup...

6. Commuter Boats

Commuter Boats Commuter Boats

I think I have one of those sets that I haven't used in years, I don't remember the model number but it had a 1 & 1/2 gallon catalyst tank with two glass tubes on the side ( one for level the other for flow rate). It atomized catalyst into the air supply of a Binks N 16 gun which I could supply resin from either a two gallon pressure pot or a 4 to 1 gecko pump. If I remember right I had a chart for % of catalyst flow, ounces per minute of resin flow, and desired catalyst ratio.