Help: rhino to maxsurf (willing to pay a little)

Discussion in 'Software' started by eddy15, Jul 25, 2020.

  1. eddy15
    Joined: Jul 2020
    Posts: 4
    Likes: 0, Points: 1
    Location: Spain

    eddy15 New Member

    Hello, first of all sorry for my English but I'll try to do my best.

    I'm having problems to export a hull from rhinoceros to maxsurf. I've tried to do the surface with "loft"and "surface from network of curves" but I always get the same result. I've also tried to rebuld the curves of the model in order to use lees control points but it's the same.

    I need to do it for the whole hull, the image it's a secondary test with just an "earier" part of it.


    I’ll really appreciate your help and as I said before im willing to pay a little because its urgent for me.

    Thank you,
     

    Attached Files:

  2. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 6,155
    Likes: 285, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    Welcome to the forum.
    Maxsurf modeler is a nightmare. I recommend that you try to make the model with Rhino or AutoCAD and that you export it to Maxsurf.
    Have you got a body lines plan of your boat in any of these formats : dwg, dxf, pdf ?
     
  3. eddy15
    Joined: Jul 2020
    Posts: 4
    Likes: 0, Points: 1
    Location: Spain

    eddy15 New Member

    Thank you for the fast reply. I have done the model (with the lines) with Rhino5, I have the 3dm model if its okay for you. I can export it to dwg too if its better.

    I'm modeling on Rhino and exporting it to Maxsurf as an IGS file, because if I try to import it as a Rhino file I lost most of the surfaces
     
  4. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 6,155
    Likes: 285, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    I usually make the model in AutoCAD because I don't handle Rhino well and because switching from Rhino to other programs always has problems for me. There are people who defend Rhino to death but I do not see it practical, I do not like it for naval architecture.
     
  5. eddy15
    Joined: Jul 2020
    Posts: 4
    Likes: 0, Points: 1
    Location: Spain

    eddy15 New Member

    It's okay for you if I make the CAD file and send it to you to see if you see something bad in it?
     
  6. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 6,155
    Likes: 285, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

  7. eddy15
    Joined: Jul 2020
    Posts: 4
    Likes: 0, Points: 1
    Location: Spain

    eddy15 New Member

    Thank you
     
  8. Ad Hoc
    Joined: Oct 2008
    Posts: 6,566
    Likes: 592, Points: 113, Legacy Rep: 2488
    Location: Japan

    Ad Hoc Naval Architect

    So, what makes your opinion better than those that defined it as practical - "to death"...?

    There are many more voices praising Rhino, that drown out your voice, in support of it....
     
  9. Frank Nsrl
    Joined: Nov 2018
    Posts: 10
    Likes: 0, Points: 1
    Location: MALAYSIA

    Frank Nsrl Junior Member

    Hi, I'm a rhino user. I use rhino to maxsurf to MOSES for hydrodynamics analysis and also AQWA. Often for me if i wanted to import my hull from rhino to maxsurf i will convert my model into iges (option 1), or u can "export with geometry in rhino and save it as Rhino 4 3dm (Makesure to explode the surface in rhino before importing to maxsurf). if you model is symmetrical just slice you hull in rhino into half and imported in maxsurf (after that select all surface and tick the symmetry
    checkbox in maxsurf). Make sure to keep the hull a simple as possible and remove any redundant point. Hope that helps!!
    122.png maxsurf fsu.png rhino fsu.png
     
  10. Frank Nsrl
    Joined: Nov 2018
    Posts: 10
    Likes: 0, Points: 1
    Location: MALAYSIA

    Frank Nsrl Junior Member

    You can sent me your hullform 3dm files to me if you need further help. I was once seeking help in this forum too ;)
     

  11. Alexanov
    Joined: Feb 2003
    Posts: 178
    Likes: 20, Points: 28, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Norway Sola

    Alexanov Senior Member

    I think IGES or 3DM is a best and safe way to converting model from Rhino to Maxsurf. For my opinion if you operate with surfaces in Rhino you will get exactly same surface in Maxsurf. Mesh and set of lines is not a best way to transfer model.
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.